276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Last Time We Met: A heart-warming and emotional will-they-won’t-they friends-to-lovers romance for 2022

£4.995£9.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Eleanor and Fin's stories hook you right from the off, making you root for them as individuals as well as for their sizzling, gorgeous romance that builds throughout the book. It's inevitable, isn't it, that the two former best friends end up meeting, and they haphazardly work their way through the difficulties they both faced, both at the end of their former friendship and over time they had no contact. The flashbacks in this really made my heart melt, conjuring up one of my all-time favourite love stories Where Rainbows End, and I spent the whole book like please get to this point again! Life is never as black and white as a romance novel, and the ending Mason gave her novel speaks of reality, as it was somewhat bittersweet. In the past, I would have probably said yes, because let’s be honest, what’s worse than spending the rest of your life by yourself?

Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with an advanced reader copy in exchange for an honest review. They both shake hands and feel rather proud that, no matter what happens, they will at least be saved from a future alone.I really enjoyed the two main characters, Eleanor and Fin, and their individual stories/development. I loved Before I Saw You by this author and was excited to read Last Time We Met, I'm a sucker for a happy ending and was hoping to get one here, but that's as much as I will say on that subject, you'll just have to read it for yourself.

I read Emily Houghton’s debut, Before I Saw You, and loved it so I couldn’t wait to give this one a read. Esta novela me encantó por que tiene personajes muy reales, que te transmiten sentimientos, que te hacen preguntarte y replantearte un montón de cosas acerca del amor y los sacrificios que aveces se hacen en nombre de él.

And I wonder if I should have made extra efforts to encourage a relationship with someone who might have been my true love. A lot of the time, these kinds of books are as sickly sweet as the icing on the carrot cake I was eating at the time of writing this review but – much like her debut – Last Time We Met isn’t all sweetness and light. After all she followed him there to enable him to further his career as a photo journalist and it would ‘not be right’ to leave her in those circumstances – but he would work something out.

The most heart-warming and emotional romcom of 2022, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Cousens. Thinking that she never loved Mike in the same way her marriage falls apart and she divorces Mike and is back in touch with the also now divorced Patrick. What I loved most about this novel though, was the influence of their families in their lives - and how differently this impacted them both. Over the course of the story, told in now time and flash backs, we discover that The H had problems with alcohol after his dad left his mother for the woman he’d been cheating with and the teenage H was left to listen to his mum grieve for his dad every night.Celine travelled to Vietnam 15 years ago where she encountered Patrick who she terms ‘the love of her life’. I thought that the female lead would have been much better with the secondary love interest but in the end, I wish that he'd never been introduced at all given how our female lead treated that sweet man! Romantic, hopeful and uplifting, I loved Last Time We Met and the gorgeous, emotionalfriendship at its heart.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment